Studio profile

The word ‘Texere’ means to weave, to construct with care.

Getting the brief right is a key part of our process and essential to a successful project. We work closely with our clients to ensure all their requirements are met and that the design integrity of a project is maintained.

We believe in creating close team relationships with clients, consultants, contractors and other collaborators. We build good working relationships through honesty, clarity and professionalism with all contributors, which in turn helps to achieve a better project.

Our research and interest includes a holistic, sustainable, approach to buildings. Our aim is to maintain a design focus, while integrating detailing, historical, environmental, community and brief requirements. We are proficient at finding solutions for our clients to maximise use of space in challenging sites, to meet their changing needs. Our focus includes materiality and texture and creating elegant and comfortable buildings.

Close ties to architectural education in Universities, means that we support and promote young talent and fresh ideas, which are brought to our work.

The Director, a qualified architect, has over 20 years UK and international experience. Prior to setting up Texere Studio, she worked at award winning practices Conran and Partners, Niall McLaughlin, Feilden Clegg Bradley, and Walters and Cohen. Her experience is of projects from concept to completion within a wide variety of sectors including commercial, education, leisure and entertainment, retail and residential (single family, private high density, and university).


Texere Studio is comprised of the director and their collaborators and associates. Past and present contributors include:

Ilona Hay, Director, BA, BEDS, M.Arch, RIBA, ARB
Toshiko Terazono, South West Associate

Jonathan Bown
Martin Ctverak, Ing. arch.
Jan Cyrus
Pavla Danesova, Ing. arch.
Tereza Domabylova
Linaka Greensword
Anja Haubold
Goneta Heta
Georgia Laganakau
Ed Lee
Loreana Padron
Pavlína Procházková
Pei Song
Kara Thompson
Sonia Tong
Jan Troller, Ing. arch.
Sam Watkins, MA, DipArch, ARB
Mike Whitfield

tel: 020 7267 0954; email: